All Things Blogged

9 Aug

The issue I always have with blogging is time. I see people with massive blogs and I feel bummed I can’t keep up with their production. Many times, I learn that they do not have students to worry about – then I don’t feel so bad – but I knew I needed a better way to manage my blogs. If you are curious about what to do in terms of managing a blog with students, you can check out my post that I used with my students Blogging for English. Today I want to spend some time on Posterous, by far one of the easiest ways to set-up and manage a blog or just about any of your other social media sites just by sending an email.

I was not a huge fan of Posterous in the beginning, mostly because I did not have a need to use it. However, over time, Posterous has become a big part of what I do because it is pretty simple to use.  I have to give some credit to Ron Ippolito for this one, he converted me.

Once it is set-up, http://www.posterous.com, you create your page.  After that, creating a post is as simple as sending an email. Want to attach a handout, when you send your email, attach a document or picture and watch it attach to the email. This way, if a student is absent, they can easily find what is needed on your blog page.

Additionaly, you can use Posterous to update your social media sites like Twitter, Facebook and YouTube. Simply write what you want in the body of the email, attach any media you want there as well and push send. This is huge, especially if you are at a school that blocks these sites while you work. Plus, if you are not that tech savvy, simply sending an email is way easier than managing a blog with daily content.

Leave a comment